Yoga, in the traditional sense of the word, is a path or practice leading to enlightenment or God-realisation. There are three main types of yoga. Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga and Jnana Yoga. Many scholars also include Raja Yoga, first elucidated by Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras.


Yoga – General

What is Yoga? – by Sri Chinmoy

Bhakti Yoga

Bhaktas consider love and devotion to be the fastest route to reach the Highest.

Bhakti Yoga – by Swami Vivekananda

Bhakti Yoga – by Sri Chinmoy

Karma Yoga

Practitioners of Karma Yoga attempt to make spiritual progress whilst staying in the world, by performing actions without attachment to their results.

Karma Yoga – By Sri Chinmoy

The Ideal of Karma Yoga – by Swami Vivekananda

Jnana Yoga

Jnanis seek to find the Highest through knowledge

Jnana Yoga – by Sri Chinmoy

Raja Yoga is considered one of the six main schools in Indian philosophy, and as such is discussed in the Indian philosophical schools/darshanas section.

Introduction to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras – by Parlan Fritz
Raja Yoga – by Swami Vivekananda